For those who do not wish to perform their own search, librarians at the Alaska Medical Library will perform database searches upon request ("mediated searching"). Requests are taken via an online search form, or you may call and discuss your question with us using this Alaska toll-free number 1.888.997.7878 or those in Anchorage can use 786.1870.
Medical Databases Licensed by AML
AML licenses two specialized databases for statewide use. Registration is required to access these resources. Please call 1.888.997.7878 to register; in Anchorage 786.1870.
- GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network) is used for diagnosis and as a reference tool in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. An infectious disease scenario is entered into a structured query. GIDEON returns a ranked differential diagnosis list along with windows covering every aspect of each disease in detail. It also includes images, interactive maps, graphs and linked references. The travel tab include country-specific distribution maps and information, health warnings & guidelines. The vaccines tab lists 68 vacines listing the mechanism of action, typical adult and pediatric dosages and wheter subsequent boosters are needed. The epidemiology module describes hundreds of diseases for specific countries and includes graphs and disease images. Finally, GIDEON has a microbiology module that takes a group of phenotypic characteristics and returns a ranked identification list of possible bacteria, mycobacteria or yeasts. GIDEON is the most comprehensive infectious diseases database available, and is updated daily.
- Natural Medicines
- Two databases, Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database, merged to form Natural Medicines. This database provides evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed information about complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). It also offers searching by specific herb/supplement, health condition, or alternative modality, as well as a site search. Content includes concise evidence-based monographs for physicians and patients, more in-depth evidence based monographs, and links to reports and abstracts of new research and pertinent articles found in the PubMed.
SLED (formerly Digital Pipeline)
The SLED article databases are available through the efforts of the University of Alaska, the State Library, and libraries statewide with funding support from the State Legislature. Click the PDF link to display free full text articles. Health databases are listed below.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition - To find health articles for the average person, includes drug index and reports.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition - To find health research for nurses and medical students.
- Academic Search Premier - Information in academic journals and magazines for college-level research.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection - Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Alt HealthWatch - To find complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- MedicLatina - To find Spanish language medical research and investigative journals
Other databases (business, K-12, automotive repair manuals) may be of interest.
"Free to All" Medical Database
- Pubmed/Medline. UAA's print collection of health sciences journals will display as a green button in the Abstract view. Free articles found from the content provided by the Digital Pipeline databases is noted with an "Alaska Flag" button in the Abstract view. Clicking on the flag displays the full text article.